Safety Design Group

Syunji Goto
Group Director
The group researches radiation engineering as well as evaluation of radiation safety and radiation shield performance by analyzing the measured data. The group also carries out R&D on beam loss monitors with high functionality and R&D on the performance improvement of the radiation monitors.

1. Yoshihiro Asano, Toshiro Itoga, and Xavier Marechal ,h Radiation Shielding aspects of the SCSS prototype XFEL facilityh, Nuclear Technology Vol.168 387-390 (2009)
2. Yoshihiro Asano, Teruhiko Bizen, and Xavier Marechal,h Analyses of the factors for demagnetization of permanent magnet caused by high energy electron irradiation, J. of Synchrotron Radiation@Vol. 16 p317-324@(2009)
3. Yoshihiro Asano gCharacteristics of radiation safety for Synchrotron Radiation and X-ray Free Electron Laser facilitiesh, Radiation Protection Dosimetry 146 ncr131 (2011)
4.X.M.Mareshal, Y. Asano, T.Itoga,h Design, development, and operation of a fiber-based Cherenkov beam loss monitor at the SPring-8 Angstrom Compact Free Electron Laser.h, Nuclear Instruments & Methods A 673 p32-45 (2012)
5.Yoshihiro Asano, hFree Electron Lasers: Chapter 10 Radiation safetyh, INTECH Open Access (2012)
6. Hideki Aoyagi, Yoshihiro Asano, Toshiro Itoga, Nobuteru Nariyama, Teruhiko Bizen, Takashi Tanaka, Hideo Kitamura gPulse-mode Measurement of Electron Beam Halo using Diamond-based Detectorh, Physical Review Special Topics-Accelerators and Beams 15 (2012)
7. Yoshihiro Asano,h Radiation safety for electron accelerator facilities; Synchrotron radiation facilityh, J. Radiation Protection & Environments ISSN 0972-0464 Vol.35 (2012)